Thierry Galli Membrane Traffic in Healthy & Diseased Brain

Course and current status

Thierry Galli is a former student of the Ecole Normale Supérieure of Lyon. He received his BSc in Biochemistry at the University Pierre and Marie Curie, Paris, in 1988, and his PhD at the Collège de France and the University Pierre and Marie Curie, Paris, in 1992. He then moved to the USA to carry out postdoctoral research in Professor Pietro De Camilli's laboratory at Yale University School of Medicine. There he worked on the molecular mechanism of regulated and constitutive exocytosis. In 1995, he took his first research appointment at the French National Institute of Health and the Curie Institute in the laboratory of Professor Daniel Louvard, and in 2001 he was recruited as Research Director at the Fer-à-Moulin Institute, Paris. In 2005, he was appointed as a Group Leader at the Jacques Monod Institute, Paris. In 2015, he was appointed head of the Psychiatry and Neuroscience Center, now Institute of Psychiatry and Neuroscience of Paris.


Positions and Employment

  • 2021-: INSERM Distinguished Research Director (DRE)
  • 2019-: Institute of Psychiatry and Neuroscience of Paris Director
  • 2015-2018: Center of Psychiatry and Neuroscience Director
  • 2013-2020: INSERM Research Director 1st class
  • 2009-2017: INSERM ERL U950 Director
  • 2005-2017: Group Leader of the team ’Membrane Traffic in Neuronal & Epithelial Morphogenesis’, Jacques Monod Institute, Paris
  • 2001-2012: INSERM Research Director 2nd class
  • 2000-2004: Group Leader of the team ‘Membrane Traffic and Neuronal Plasticity’, INSERM U536, Institut Du Fer-à-Moulin, Paris
  • 1995-2000: INSERM Researcher in the laboratory of Pr. D. Louvard, CNRS UMR 144, Institut Curie, Paris.
  • 1992-1995: Postdoctoral Research Associate of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute in the laboratory of  Pr. P. De Camilli (Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA).
  • 1988-1992: PhD student in the laboratory of Pr. J. Glowinski (INSERM U114, Collège de France, Paris).


Honors and Awards

  • 2022: Mariano Gago prize with Nuno Raimundo
  • 2016: Coup d'Elan of Fondation Bettencourt-Schueller
  • 2015: Rachel, Ajzen et Léon IAGOLNITZER Prize of Fondation Pour la Recherche Médicale
  • 2012 : Grand Prix à orientation fondamentale de l'Association Robert Debré pour la Recherche Médicale
  • 2007 : Editor with Peter Mc Pherson of the issue of Current Opinion in Cell Biology on ‘Membranes’
  • 2006 : Médaille de la Ville de Paris (Echelon Argent), Lauréat de la Subvention de la Ville de Paris en Recherche médicale et Santé (4 lauréats)
  • 2004: Contrat d’Interface INSERM-Université Paris VII (2004, renewed 2008)
  • 1999 : Action Concertée Incitative – Jeune Chercheurs du Ministère de la Recherche et des Technologies.
  • 1993 : Bourse de Recherche de la Philippe Foundation.
  • 1990 : Bourse Curien de Formation par la Recherche du Ministère de la Recherche et des Technologies.


Honorary activities

  • 2013-:        Director of ITMO/IT BCDE
  • 2012-2013: Member of the Scientific Council of INSERM 
  • 2012-: Member of the EB of J Biol Chem
  • 2012-2013: President of the French Society of Cell Biology
  • 2010-2011: Vice-President of the French Society of Cell Biology
  • 2009-2016:  Editor in Chief of Biology of the Cell
  • 2008-2012:  Member of the INSERM Scientific Committee of Neurosciences
  • 2003-2008:  Associate Editor of Biology of the Cell
  • 2003-:         Editorial Advisor of the Biochemical Journal
  • 2002-2009:  Treasurer of the French Society of Cell Biology
  • 2002-2003:  Editor-in-chief of the Lettre des Neurosciences (French Neuroscience Society)
  • 2002-2012:  Member of the INSERM commission on workshops
  • 2001-2013:  Member of the Council of the French Society of Cell Biology
  • 2001-2010:  Member of the Editorial Board of Médecine/Sciences
  • 2001-2004:  Member of the INSERM commission on Prion Diseases
  • 1998-2002:  Founding member, Treasurer of the Club Exocytose
  • 1998-2001:  Member of the Neuroscience Committee of the University Pierre et Marie Curie

Scientific summary

T Galli's research focuses on the role of SNARE proteins in exocytosis mediating epithelial and neuronal cell differentiation, with particular emphasis on the tetanus neurotoxin-sensitive routes, mediated by cellubrevin/VAMP3 and synaptobrevin/VAMP2, the tetanus neurotoxin-insensitive routes mediated by TI-VAMP/VAMP7, and ER-Plasma Membrane contact sites regulated by Sec22b. We aim at understanding the role of secretory mechanisms in neuronal development and aging and in neurodegenerative diseases and brain tumours.

Selection of recent publications:

  1. Burgo A, Sotirakis E, Simmler MC, Verraes A, Chamot C, Simpson JC, Lanzetti L, Proux-Gillardeaux V, and T. Galli. (2009). Role of Varp, a Rab21 exchange factor and TI-VAMP/VAMP7 partner, in neurite growth. EMBO reports. 10:1117-1124.
  2. Burgo A, Proux-Gillardeaux V. , Sotirakis E. , Bun P, Casano A, Verraes A, Liem R, Formstecher E, Coppey M, and T. Galli. (2012). A molecular network for the transport of the TI-VAMP/VAMP7 vesicles from cell center to periphery. Dev. Cell, 23:166–180.
  3. Burgo A*, Casano AM*, Kuster A*, Arold ST, Wang G, Nola S, Verraes A, Dingli F, Loew D, and T. Galli. (2013). Increased activity of the Vesicular Soluble N-Ethylmaleimide-sensitive Factor Attachment Protein Receptor TI-VAMP/VAMP7 by Tyrosine Phosphorylation in the Longin Domain. J Biol Chem. 288(17):11960-72. doi: 10.1074/jbc. M112.415075.
  4. Gallo A, Danglot L, Giordano F, Hewlett B, Binz T, Vannier C, and T. Galli. (2020). Role of the Sec22b/E-Syt complex in neurite growth and ramification. . J Cell Sci. jcs.247148.
  5. Martinez-Arca S, Rudge R, Vacca M, Raposo G, Camonis J, Proux-Gillardeaux V, Daviet L, Formstecher E, Hamburger A, Filippini F, D'Esposito M. and T. Galli. (2003). A dual mechanism controlling the localization and function of exocytic v-SNAREs. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 100:9011-9016.
  6. Martinez-Arca S, Alberts P, Zaharoui A, Louvard D, and T. Galli. (2000). Role of Tetanus neurotoxin Insensitive-Vesicle Associated Membrane Protein (TI-VAMP) in Vesicular Transport Mediating Neurite Outgrowth. J. Cell Biol. 149:889-899.
  7. Petkovic M, Jemaiel A, Daste F, Specht CG, Izeddin I, Vorkel D, Verbavatz JM, Darzacq X, Triller A, Pfenninger KH, Tareste D, Jackson CL, and T. Galli. (2014). The SNARE Sec22b has a non-fusogenic function in plasma membrane expansion. Nat Cell Biol, 16(5):434-444.
  8. Rossi V, Banfield DK, Vacca M, Dietrich LEP, Ungermann C, D’Esposito M, Galli T and F. Filippini. (2004). Longins and their longin domains: regulated SNAREs and multifunctional SNARE regulators. TiBS (Trends Biochem Sci). 29:682-8.
  9. Wang G, Nola S, Bovio S, Bun P, Coppey-Moisan M, Lafont F, and T. Galli. (2018). Biomechanical Control of Lysosomal Secretion Via the VAMP7 Hub: A Tug-of-War between VARP and LRRK1. iScience 4 127-143,
  10. Wojnacki J, Nola S, Bun P, Cholley B, Filippini F, Pressé MT, Lipecka J, Lam SM, N’guyen J, Simon A, Ouslimani A, Shui G, Fader CM, Colombo MI, Guerrera IC, and T. Galli. (2020). Role of VAMP7-dependent secretion of Reticulon 3 in neurite growth. Cell reports 22;33(12):108536,
  11. Filippini F, Nola S, Zahraoui A, Roger K, Wojnacki J, Bun P, Blachon S, Rain J-C, Taymans J-M, Chartier-Harlin M-C, Guerrera C and Galli T. Secretion of VGF relies on the interplay between LRRK2 and post-Golgi v-SNAREs. Preprint (2021). SSRN (2023). Cell Reports 42(3):112221.

Image d’exemple